President Obama Announces the 2010 National Teacher of the Year

2010 Teacher of the Year, Sarah Brown Wessling
Every year, one teacher from across the country is selected as being the National Teacher of the Year. Last year, it was Anthony “Tony” Mullen, a special education teacher at the ARCH School in Greenwich, NY.
On April 29, 2010, President Obama announced that the talented teacher who is receiving this honor for 2010 is Sarah Brown Wessling.
Wessling teaches English at Johnston High School in Iowa. Wessling is committed to making English fun and interesting for students.
One of her students said that there is “no discussion fruitless, no assignment pointless and not one day was boring” in Wessling’s class.
“When I look in a classroom, I see a story in every learner, unique and yearning to be read,” Wessling said in her application. “Creating a community for learning means creating more than a classroom, it means constantly intertwining our stories in a way that reveals our potential.”
Congratulations to Sarah Brown Wessling, the National Teacher of the Year for 2010!